Thursday, January 29, 2009

Snow Dayz!

So, this week it came...the big snow storm of 2009! All weekend long they talked of some serious snow coming out way and we actually got it this time around!

Monday night it started snowing late in the evening and when we woke up there were about 5 inches on the ground and it kept on snowing! Parker was excited as was I and I decided that I was going to take the day off of work. I work pretty far away, it's about a 45 minute drive and Cincinnati in the snow and traffic is no fun...especially since I have to be on the busiest highway in the area. So, Scott convinced me to stay at home and enjoy the snow day with him and the boys.
This is what we woke up to on Tuesday morning.

So, Dylan came over for the day and him, Parker and Scott played outside in the snow all day long and had a blast! Getting ready of course was a challenge, as it always is trying to layer on a million pounds of clothes just to keep warm!


And, when they finally made it out in the snow, the fun began!

As soon as he walked into the snow he went straight to his knees...I don't think he was expecting the snow to be so deep and so hard for his little legs to move in!!!

But, Dylan is always there to lend a helping hand!


On the way down the hill!
Now the hard part....back UP the hill!
Daddy pulling Parker back up the hill...little legs in a 1/2 foot of snow just don't cut it!


After a couple of hours outside playing it was time to come in and rest, get warm and watch a movie! They were so pooped at this point, but I guess you would be if you just walked up and down that hill for the past couple of hours! Scott built a fire for them too so they could warm up fast!





Then we decided it was time for Beckett to try out his exersaucer. He's not really big enough to play with it, or even reach the bottom of it for that matter, but we thought that it would be something good for him to sit in and check things out...and it get's him out of the swing and we can bring him anywhere we are and not have to worry about big brother trying to do something to him! We got some REALLY great pictures.













We also tried out his high chair because we want him to be able to sit at the table with us and eat when it's breakfast/lunch/ dinner time...and he get's to start eating cereal in the next couple of weeks....I cannot believe how big he is getting! He is such a happy baby and was so excited about his new "toy". And, I think he was pretty pumped that his mommy and daddy got to spend the day with him as well.


That night Dylan spent the night and turns out that Mother Nature was not done with us! She dropped another 1-2 inches of ice on us and then once the morning hit added another 5 inches of snow! Needless to say, I stayed home from work and enjoyed another snow day with the boys and we had a blast. Did a lot of baking, playing Wii and got caught up on my Accounting homework (which I hate!).


I love days like that, where you are forced to just take it easy and stay at home. It's so nice to get a couple of days like that every now and again and it was nice to spend the day with my boys. I was sad to have to come back to work today, and to have to go out on the roads which are still not all that great. All day I wished I was cozied up in my nice warm house in comfy clothes with all of my guys......


Gotta love them snow days!










Tuesday, January 20, 2009

Not much time!

It's been a while since I posted...I don't seem to catch a whole lot of time to myself to get it done, and would do it at work, but I don't have access to my pictures so it becomes a little hard! We are here though and things are going well. Back to work and getting into the swing of things, which is starting to get a little easier as the weeks go on. Before we know it, it will be a couple of years from now and my babies will be even bigger than they are now! I start back up with school this week, so life is going to get WAY more hectic! I'm praying and keeping my fingers crossed that things go smoothly and I will be able to get some school work done!

Promise to get on here soon and update when I get the chance!

Tuesday, January 13, 2009

Being a working mom

When I grew up...my mom worked. I moved in with my dad, he married Letty, my step-mom and she worked. I knew no other way, I thought that every mom worked, I really didn't know that there was any such thing as a mom who stayed home with her kids all day. All of my friends moms worked. It was the norm to me. Did it ever bother me that my mom(s) worked...nope. Did I think they loved me any less? Nope. Did I think it made them a bad mom? Nope.

So, why is that now that I'm a mom and I have to work, that I feel like such an awful mother?!?! I've only been back to work from maternity leave for 1 week 1 day and it's gotten a little bit easier, but not much. Today, I heard from my mother in law that Beckett laughs....not just a little, like, a full on belly laugh. Have I heard it? Nope. Has she..sure has. Am I jealous? You bet ya. Does it make me mad? A little. I don't think it's fair that she get's to see these moments all day long and see both of my kids do all of their "firsts" and I get to hear about them while I'm sitting at my desk here at work, wishing I was home with my boys. Things like this make me sad...make me mad and make me wish that I could stay at home with them. Instead, I get to spend about 3 hours a day with them, which is filled with cooking dinner, cleaning up dinner, giving them baths and getting them ready for bed (which that alone is an hour ordeal) and then they go to bed. Not much time for a lot of other things, like playing a bunch (although we do play quite a bit during the summer outside all night since it's light out a little longer.) or to me, not enough time to let them know how much I love them and how much I miss them while we're apart. Not enough time to see every smile, every laugh and every frown.

It's just not enough time.

I think that ALL mothers should be able to stay at home with their children for at least the first 5 years of their lives. The governement should pay us to take care of our kids, not pawn them off onto someone else every day so this person can be the one to whitness all of those awesome moments while you go to work everyday and just think all day of what they could be doing.

It's not fair.

It's just not fair..........................................................................

Tuesday, January 6, 2009

At work

This.Sucks.Ass

Sunday, January 4, 2009

Back to work

So, tomorrow is the day...the one I've been dreading since October 6th, the minute Beckett was born. I have to go back to work. My stint as a stay at home mom is over :(

I hate this....all day long I've been sick to my stomach and have just randomly burst into tears just at the thought of what it is going to be like in the morning when I leave my babies. I remember it being hard with Parker, but I honestly do not remember it being this hard. Maybe it's because now I know Parker has gotten used to me being home and now I'm leaving him. And, I wonder if Beckett is going to wonder where I'm at.

It's nice that we get to take them to my mother in laws and I don't have to take them to strangers. But, at the same time, it sucks that she gets to spend more time with them than I do, she gets to see a majority of their "firsts" and she knows them probably better than I do.

This has been an awesome time in my life. Being home with both of my boys. I wouldn't have traded it for anything in this world. I actually got to feel like a stay at home mom and cherished every moment of it. I felt like I was a real mom.......now I feel like I'm abandoning my kids.

Tomorrow is going to be a very hard day for me. I hope that if your reading this and you are a stay at home mom that you know how lucky you are. And, how envious of you I'am. Because I would give the world to spend just a couple more days with my boys. Being the one who takes care of their every need and the one who gets to see every single smile and see every sweet and funny thing that they do.

Tomorrow is going to suck.

Tuesday, December 30, 2008

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

Hi everyone! A bit late, as usual, but Merry Christmas! It has been soooo busy around our house the past couple of weeks, so there has not been much time between running here and there to sit down and write. I love the holidays, but this year I think we had WAY too much Christmas! By Sunday we were totally done and so was Parker!

Our Christmas was good. This year was the first year that Parker REALLY got into opening his presents and it was so much fun to watch him open them up.

He really only had one thing on his mind in terms of what he wanted from Santa and that was a guitar! He has been wanting a guitar forever, because Parker thinks (and so do we) that he is a "rock star". He likes to play "rock star" and he does a darn good job of it. We did (or Santa did) get him a guitar, but once he opened it it wasn't the one he really wanted. It was one that you had to hook up an I-Pod to or a MP3 player, or he could wonder around with headphones on. He liked it, but you could tell he was a little let down. But, luckily just a couple of days before hand, Parker stared going to the potty on the big boy potty and we told him that if he pooped on the big boy potty he could have a REAL guitar. And, on Christmas Eve, he pooped on the potty. So, of course I rushed out the day after Christmas I rushed to Toys R Us and bought him a Spongebob Squarepants guitar, which he totally loves.






No better way to pass the time on the potty than play the guitar and write some songs. I about peed my pants when I walked in and saw him playing the guitar on the pot! Too funny. He also ended up getting another guitar from his Aunt Jana and Uncle Dave which along with the drums, and other instruments that he got has us stocked with stuff for a full fledged band! We have a rock star living in our house!

Beckett enjoyed himself as well. Although he has no idea what in the world was going on, he liked what he saw!


Next year will be a good year for him, as Beckett and big brother Parker will be able to open presents together!
Like I said, it was a pretty busy week for us. Christmas Eve we went to Scott's parents house to celebrate with his family. Christmas day we woke up and did presents here, Scott got a new coffee maker and a new coffee mug and I got some great smelling perfume. We went to my moms house to celebrate with her and my step-dad and my sisters and brothers. My Aunt Connie was there with her new beau, Dave and my cousin Elizabeth and her boyfriend, oh wait, I'm sorry, fiance Scott were there (congrats to them!). Then we headed to my Uncles house to celebrate with my dads family. Friday we went to my dad and step-moms house and did Christmas there and then Saturday we went back there and celebrated with some more family. It was very busy, but also very nice to be with family. Christmas is my favorite time of year and although it was so crazy, I'm a little sad that it is over.
So, now onto New Years! Tomorrow is New Years Eve and Scott and I are hosting a party. Although I feel like I'm not very prepared for it, but I think (I hope) it will be fun! All of our close and good friends are coming over to ring in the new year with us and I cannot wait. Then a couple of days of relaxing and back to work I go (more on that depressing topic later!)
So, I will probably post on New Years day, so until then...Happy New Year!

Sunday, December 21, 2008

What was I thinking?

Right after we graduated high school (10 short years ago!) we all went to Panama City Beach Florida as many high school graduates do. While on the plane on the way there I decided that I wanted to get my nose pierced. So, right after getting checked into our hotel me and my group of friends went straight across the street to a little shop that did piercings and tatoos. And, I did it. I got a nose ring. And, it was an actual ring. At that time and at that particular place they didn' t have the tiny little studs all they had were those rings, and that is what I had. I loved it. Scott got to Panama a couple of days later and he hated it. He said that it looked trashy...and looking back....it did. It was big and gawdy and 2 weeks after being home from Florida we took it out. Scott and I sat at his kitchen table and messed with it for hours before I was finally able to get it out.

So, recently I've been thinking that I wanted to do it again. But, this time I just wanted the tiny little stud that I should have gotten in the first place. I told Scott this and he told me that I was nuts, why in the world at the age of 28 and with two children would I want to get this done again? But, I really wanted it done. So, I tell me little sisters this and they wanted it done too. So, we decided we were all going to go and do it together. And, we did...well, me and Rachael did anyway. We did it...today.













I was pretty excited after we got it done. I had it done and I like it. But, now, after coming home and getting out that "excitement" stage I'm wondering if it was a huge mistake. I mean, I AM 28 years old..and I'm a mom! Moms don't have their noses pierced. Scott told me he thinks that I'm going through a "quarter-life crisis". I'm not, it's just something that I personally think is cute and wanted to do it again (and maybe prove to myself I'm not getting old and that I'm still young enough to do something like that). Scott, of course hates it. He said that he thinks that ALL facial piercings are trashy, but this one is tiny really and it's not bad. But, he hates it. And, I'm doing the same thing that I did the last time. He doesn't like it so I feel like I have to take it out. And, now I'm questioning myself.
What the hell was I thinking???!!! I cannot believe that i did this AGAIN! And, I'm old..too old to be doing crap like this, right? I mean, how can I do this when i'm a MOM for goodness sakes! How can people take me seriously as a mother when I have a freakin piercing in my nose! And, not one that I've had pre-babies..but one that I got after both of them were born! I'm an idiot....go ahead and tell me. Because with Christmas being this week, I'm sure I'm going to hear it a million times....
What was I thinking?